Tuesday, December 7, 2010

This weeks show was a trip back into the wonderful 1980's (with sprinkling of new music). This time of the year new releases are fewer so I decided to take a trip backward.

A program note in the upcoming two weeks:
December 11th (6-8am EST) will be the Year in Review for singles and lead tracks off EPs. A best of show with no order, just music that has been a part of the Morning Flipside.

December 18 (6-8am EST) will be the Morning Flipside/Dropnamer top albums of 2010. The number will be determined by how many I can fit into a two hour show.

Sometime within the next week I will be putting together a Christmas show but it will not be on Christmas day. Stay Tuned for the gory details.

As a promised, better late than never for another playlist from the show from December 4. Here's another week's worth of fantabulous music:

Breeders "Flipside" -off Last Splash (1993) show theme, played every Saturday morning at 6am of course.

Steve Wynn and the Miracle 3 "Resolution" - off Northern Aggression
Twilight Singers"Blackbird and the Fox" - off the forecoming album Dynamite Steps
Galaxie 500 "Snowstorm" - off 1987's On Fire .
Crocodiles "Billy Speed" - off Sleep Forever.
Stornoway "Fuel Up" - off Beachcomber Windowsill.
Sleep Ins "Silver State" - off Songs about Girls and Outer Space.
Darker My Love "18th Street Shuffle" - off Alive As You Are
Blur "Theres no Other Way" - Off 1992's Leisure
Let's Active "Grey Scale" - A bonus track off re-release of 1984's Cypress

Aljandro Escovdeo "Street Songs" - Off Street Songs of Love
Thrift Astronaut " Another Califonia Song" - Off Caffeine Heartache
Arctic Monkeys "Marty Bum"- off 2006's Whatever people say that what I am Not
Matthew Sweet "Looking at the Sun" - Off 1992's Girlfiend.

Elliott Smith "Son of Sam"
- off 1999's Figure 8
Guided By Voices "I am a Scientist" - Off Bee Thousand
Avi Buffalo "Truth Sets In" - off their self titled debut
Lower Dens "Tea Lights"
Possom Jenkins "Reidsville"
Pavement "Trigger Cut" - off Slanted and Enchanted
The Members "Working Girls" - Title track from 1982
Corin Tucker Band "Riley off 1000 years

Smithereens "Behind the Wall of Sleep" -off 1985's Especially for You
Joy Division "Love With Tear Us appear Again" Off 1980's Closer
Eux Autre "Go Dancing"
Mr Dream "Learn the Language"
Meat Puppets "Up in the Sun"

Salt Chunk Mary "You Won't Know Until you try"- Mark Linkous' band from 1992
XTC "Making Plans for Nigel" off 1979's Wire and Drums

Next Saturday is the top singles from 2010, should be good.
Until next week we'll see ya......

No comments: